Guilt-Free Cinnamon Roll Granola

Two things happened to bring about this cinnamon roll granola:

  1. I dragged my sister to an amazing diner that serves jumbo cinnamon rolls (the I-could-use-this-as-a-spare-tire size, not a standard Cinnabon size).

    Ciera cinnamon roll.jpg
    My sister, for scale. 

2. A friend texted asking if I had a good granola recipe.

The problems that arose from these circumstances were:

1. All I want all the time is a cinnamon roll that doesn’t make my insides want to die, and

2. Why on earth have I never made my own granola? What kind of food blogger/person who’s hobby list *includes* hiking even though they only hike about ten times a year, for about two hours at a time, when it is 60-70 degrees outside, am I if I have NEVER made my own granola?!

A travesty, to say the least.

When I set out developing a granola recipe my first thought was: Baklava! It’s spicy, nutty, filled with honey – NOTHING COULD BE BETTER, and while I still believe in the almighty and life-changing power of Baklava-flavored granola, it is still being perfected in my test kitchen.

But in the mean time, guilt-free cinnamon roll granola was born! It is only sweetened with dried fruit and honey (no processed sugar here!) and it is completely dairy-free thanks to the magic that is coconut oil. It is also addictive. Seriously, I made this batch on Thursday and it is already half gone – mostly because I open the container about five times a day just to sneak a bite.

So whether you are planning a big hike, or you are meal-planning for the week, here’s a quick, easy, and delicious recipe for Cinnamon Roll Granola.

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups rolled oats
  • 1/2 chopped pecans
  • 1/2 chopped walnuts
  • 1/4 cup dried dates
  • 1/2 cup raisins
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil, melted
  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tbsp cinnamon

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 300°F.
  2. Combine dry ingredients in a large mixing bowl.
  3. Melt coconut oil in a small bowl, add honey and vanilla and whisk together.
  4. Pour liquid mixture over dry ingredients and combine.
  5. Spread granola mixture over a large baking sheet either prepared with non-stick cooking spray or parchment paper.
  6. Bake for 25 minutes, stirring the granola around every ten to prevent burning.
  7. Let cool for at least 1 hour before storing in an air-tight container.

image1

 

Leave a Reply

