Greek Pasta Salad made with BanzaⓇ – The Chickpea Pasta

So alternative pasta is all the rage – I get that. I believe that everyone deserves to experience the majesty that is pasta – in any form. However, I am always a little skeptical when a new “fad” pasta shows up on the market. Is it really going to compare to the true grain and gluten-filled goodness of the traditional stuff? I’ve had zoodles, I’m a big fan of spaghetti squash, but I have yet to find anything that actually TASTES like pasta – until  I tried Banza®.

Y’all, I know, I also suspect witchcraft.

I mean, this pasta has a laundry-list of health-food junkie brownie points (black bean brownie points, obviously). It’s gluten-free, soy-free, non-GMO, vegan, and has a low-glycemic index on top of having 25 grams of protein, 13 grams of fiber per serving, and ACTUALLY TASTING GOOD.

Don’t believe me? Yeah, I wouldn’t either, so here’s PROOF:

image1

I can’t back up the “it tastes good” fact without actually giving you pasta and until the internet catches up with Smart House-level advancements, I can’t materialize good food right in front of you.

HOWEVER, I can give you a kick-ass recipe for a super healthy and filling Greek Pasta Salad. Leggo’

Ingredients:

For the pasta

  • 1 box of Banza, rotini or penne.
  • 1 red bell pepper, diced
  • 1/2 cup red onion, sliced
  • 1 cup cucumber, quartered long ways, deseeded, and diced
  • 1 cup baby spinach, torn
  • 1 cup grape tomatoes, halved.
  • crumbled feta, to serve
  • Optional: 1 cup sliced olives

For the dressing

  • 1/4 cup lemon juice
  • 1/2 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon red wine vinegar
  • 1 clove of garlic, crushed
  • 1/2 tsp of salt
  • 1/4 tsp pepper
  • 1 tsp oregano

Directions:

  1. Bring about two quarts of salted water to a boil. Add in Banza and cook for about 7-8 minutes.
  2. Strain the pasta and add into bowl with prepared vegetables.
  3. In a separate bowl whisk together dressing ingredients.
  4. Pour dressing over pasta mixture – mix thoroughly to coat pasta.
  5. Refrigerate for at least one hour before serving.
  6. Serve with crumbled feta cheese.
Leave a Reply

